The Nowhere Emporium

By Ross MacKenzie

Format: Paperback

Winner of the Blue Peter Best Story Award 2016 and the Scottish Children's Book Awards 2016. When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel gets drawn into its magical world. A riot of imagination and fantasy.

Availability: In stock

RRP: £6.99

Price: £6.99

Special Price £6.29

Floris Books

Floris Books is an independent publishing company based in Edinburgh, Scotland. In 2016 Floris won the Saltire Society Scottish Publisher of the Year. Floris Books is the largest children's book publisher in Scotland and are well known for the Kelpies range of Scottish children's books. They also publish international children’s books and an extensive list of non-fiction books, including alternative education, agriculture, health, parenting and religion.

Product Description


Winner of the Blue Peter Best Story Award 2016 and the Scottish Children's Book Award 2016, and the North East Book Award 2015.

When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident. Before long, the 'shop from nowhere' -- and its owner, Mr Silver -- draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment.

Recruited as Mr Silver's apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium's vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms -- rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined.

But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble.

Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever?

Ross MacKenzie unleashes a riot of imagination, colour and fantasy in this astonishing adventure, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Cornelia Funke and Neil Gaiman.

Additional Information

Additional Information

Format Paperback
Imprint Floris Books
Publication Date 19 Mar 2015
ISBN 9781782501251
Number of Pages 288

Customer Reviews

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Press Reviews

'Perfect for fans who love magic and Harry Potter so another winner from Kelpies. It's my new favourite to hand sell!'

-- Sharleene Creasey, Seven Stories bookshop

'The author will dazzle you and entice you to feast your imagination on the story ahead.'

-- Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books

'... an absolute delight to read from the very first moment. MacKenzie has created a sumptuous, sparkling world that any reader will be loathe to leave. . . reads like The Night Circus for children and will leave the reader with a similar sense of having just read a very special book indeed.'

-- welovethisbook

'Arguably one of the best childrens books in the last 10 years!'

-- The Reader Teacher

'MacKenzie creates a dazzling fantasy world, so engaging and vivid it reminds one of Cornelia Funke's books. Young readers... will be entranced.'

-- Andrea Reece, lovereading4kids

'An amazing book filled with magic and excitement. If you like Harry Potter and Dr Who, you will love this!'

-- Tomasz, age 9, lovereading4kids

'...a cracking good story with convincingly elaborated magical elements and characters that are clearly drawn, and it keeps you turning the page.'

-- Books for Keeps

'A real treat for anyone with an imagination... This is Ross Mackenzie at his best.'

-- Elaine Clarke, Junior School Teacher, George Heriots School

'It is a story that stays with you once you put it down, makes you worry about the characters when you are not reading, and makes you imagine how they lived their lives after that last sentence. And that is when you know you have something special!'

-- Midnight Readers blogspot

'This is a delightful book, a joy of a book, a veritable feast for the imagination.'

-- Gordon Askew, magicfictionsincepotter blogspot

'Best book I've ever read'

-- 9yrs boy, Toppsta

'As you read the story it feels like it's pulling you in bit by bit and it keeps you excited ... I enjoyed every moment.'

-- Joseph, age 8, National Geographic Kids

'Delectable writing, an excellent plot and extraordinary friendships provide for an enchanting read. I hope that you'll pick this up and give it a read, as it's truly proof that books are kind of magical portal.'

-- NetGalley

'Whimsical and downright magical, a must for a middle grade fantasy fan.'

-- NetGalley, Librarian

'I thoroughly enjoyed the characters, the plot was perfectly paced and kept me utterly hooked (to the point where I read it in one glorious gulp over a Sunday afternoon) and the world building was quite honestly exceptional. All in all, I loved this a whole lot and I cant wait to get my hands on the upcoming sequel the Elsewhere Emporium soon! 5/5'

-- Golden Books Girl

Also by this author

You may also like