Ruby McCracken: Tragic Without Magic

By Elizabeth Ezra

Format: Paperback

Ruby McCracken is forced to move to the Ordinary World and leave her magic behind. Can Ruby regain her powers in this humorous and sparkling debut?

Availability: In stock

RRP: £6.99

Price: £6.99

Special Price £6.29

Floris Books

Floris Books is an independent publishing company based in Edinburgh, Scotland. In 2016 Floris won the Saltire Society Scottish Publisher of the Year. Floris Books is the largest children's book publisher in Scotland and are well known for the Kelpies range of Scottish children's books. They also publish international children’s books and an extensive list of non-fiction books, including alternative education, agriculture, health, parenting and religion.

Product Description

Details

Ruby McCracken's life is OVER. Her parents have forced her to move to the Ordinary World and that means -- new home, new school and worst of all, no magic! Seriously?! A witch without magic? That's LITERALLY tragic.


Ruby has to leave behind her broomstick (and walk everywhere -- YUCK!) and her friends (no more watching Hex Factor together on a Saturday night). She's absolutely STARVING with no snack spell, and there's no way to get revenge on the mean girls at her boring new school without a good curse.


Despite her best witching efforts, the Ordinary World remains tragically magic-deprived, until Ruby receives a mysterious hext that seems to offer an answer. That is, if she can figure out what it means and, more importantly, who sent it.


Packed with great humour, loveable characters and witty banter, Ruby McCracken: Tragic Without Magic is perfect for fans of Witchworld and The Worst Witch.

Additional Information

Additional Information

Format Paperback
Imprint Floris Books
Publication Date 19 Oct 2017
ISBN 9781782504467
Number of Pages 176

Customer Reviews

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Press Reviews

'Ruby McCracken: Tragic without Magic is packed with humour, magic, disgusting food concoctions and hilarious anecdotes that will be perfect for fans of the Worst Witch and You Can't Make Me Go to Witch School.'


-- Armadillo


'The challenges of being a normal human plunged into magic training have been well worked in the Worst Witch series. But perhaps not thoroughly enough explored is what it means to be a witch thrust into a banal ordinary world in which she's not even allowed to cast spells. Enter the entertaining Ruby McCracken: Tragic Without Magic, by Elizabeth Ezra (Floris, £6.99)'


-- The Herald


Ruby is an endearing, witty heroine whose frustrations... will resonate with young readers as much as her language does, and Ezra's sense of fun abounds in witchy details... A great fit for readers looking to move on from the Worst Witch or Wrigglesbottom Primary to something slightly spooky but not too scary.'


-- West Coast Review

You may also like